Anyway, lets get to the point of this post which is actually really exciting for me. So recently I was out with my husband and he spotted some gummy colas that were gelatin free or at least that's what he thought. I got excited and was about to eat them until I read the infamous word "GELATIN" on it. I pointed it out and he was just as disappointed as I was. Most of the gelatin products on the market come from pork and being Muslim that means we can't enjoy and savor these gummy treats. Anyway, I went online and searched for some halal products but couldn't find anything worth ordering. Then I finally decided to checkout the Haribo website since I see their products all the time and everywhere. Of course I was disappointed to find out from there website that the source of their gelatin is pork. There was a light at the end of the tunnel though, they specifically mentioned that all of there products that are made in their Turkish facilities are from a 100% certified halal beef gelatin. YAY! I thought to myself!You couldn't order products from specific countries though, you just had to go ahead and order the product and then find out where it was made. I wasn't going to risk ordering anything. So from then on every time I'd see a Haribo product I'd flip it over and look at where it was made and yesterday i finally found 3 pounds of gummy bears that were guess what? yes! made in Turkey. I happily grabbed them and am about to empty them in a pretty jar and place on my dining room table so that I can visually enjoy them as well as eat them all up!
|Photo Credit: Haribo Website|